Team Members (2016 - 2017)

Beginning in the 2013-2014 school year, Tacho Lycos partnered with one of the space teams for the Aerospace Engineering capstone Senior Design project. This gave the club access to more experienced undergraduate students who were able to dedicate more time and energy into guiding the club through the milestones set by NASA for the Student Launch competition. This partnership allowed the veteran club members who were best suited to design, build, and test the sub- and full-scale rockets to work toward their final graduation requirement while continuing their experience in the club. Less experienced club members have also benefited greatly from this partnership as the Seniors have been able to mentor underclassmen in topics ranging from stability in rocket design to composite layups. A new Senior Design team has been selected for the 2016-17 school year and will continue a successful partnership that will ensure the club's growth, longevity, and overall experience - making Tacho Lycos stronger than ever!
NC State Aerospace Senior Design - Space Team 1
2016 - 2017 Tacho Lycos Team

Executive Officers (2016 - 2017)

President and Senior Design Lead

Emily Gipson -

Major: Aerospace Engineering
Biography: Born in Staten Island, NY and raised in Charlotte, NC, Emily is currently a junior in Aerospace Engineering. She joined the team in her freshman year and has become progressively more involved each year. Emily is passionate about rocketry and enthusiastically shares that with the community as the Tacho Lycos' President.

Vice-President and Coordination Officer

Raven Lauer -

Major: Aerospace Engineering and History
Biography: Raven is a 5th year student double majoring in Aerospace Engineering and History. After living in Wake Forest his whole life, attending engineering school at NC State was an obvious choice. When not launching rockets with the club, Raven spends most of his time flying helicopters and running the Wolf Wings Aviation Club on campus.

Supporting Officers (2016 - 2017)


David Schuler -

Major: Mechanical Engineering
Biography: David is a third year in Mechanical Engineering. He was born in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada, but has spent the majority of his life in the United States, acquiring citizenship in 2013. He took time off school last year to co-op with Oracle, and will be interning at NASA's Johnson Space Center this spring. He hopes to contribute to space exploration throughout his lifetime, and is optimistic about the discoveries the future will bring.

Media Manager

Joseph Taylor -

Major: Environmental Science
Biography: Joseph is a second year Environmental Science major. He currently works at NC State University Housing as a designer on the marketing team. Last year, he acted as the lead aesthetic designer of the rocket built for the 2015-2016 Student Launch Initiative. His pastimes included drawing and planning missions in Kerbal Space Program.

Safety Officer

William Martz -

Major: Aerospace Engineering
Biography: Originally from Holly Springs, NC, William has always been interested in things that fly, rockets in particular. As an Aerospace Engineering major, Tacho Lycos was a perfect opportunity to get hands on experience. William joined the club his sophomore year and has learned a lot about rocketry and engineering in general over the last three years.

Outreach Coordinator

John Inness -

Major: Aerospace Engineering
Biography: Raised in Cary, NC, John is a junior in aerospace engineering and has been a part of the club since his freshmen year. During his time in the club, he has been able to gain hands on experience in the designing and testing rockets of various sizes. In addition to his involvement as part of Tacho Lycos, John is active in the music department at NCSU, serving as principal tubist various ensembles.

Advisors and Mentors

Jim Livingston

Biography: Jim has been a Tripoli Rocketry Association Member for twenty-two years. He has built and launched over fifty M class and larger motors. Jim has been a member of Tripoli Technical Advisory Panel (TAP) for seventeen years.

Dr. Alan Whitmore

Biography: Alan Whitmore is a Research Associate in the Department of Genetics at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Medicine. His work addresses the genetic control of susceptibility to viral respiratory diseases like influenza and SARS. He has been the Prefect (local chapter president) of Tripoli East NC (a chapter of the Tripoli Rocketry Association) since 2006, and is a member of the Technical Advisory Panel of Tripoli Rocketry Association.

Dr. Charles Hall Jr.

Biography:Dr. Hall directs the Flight Research Group in Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering at NCSU. The Flight Research Group is involved primarily with UAS/UAV/RPV aircraft but some programs have involved general aviation and C-130 aircraft.

Daniel Mahinthakumar (Kumar) -

Biography: Raised in Apex, NC, Daniel (A.K.A. Kumar) has been interested in programming and robotics since middle school. He has been involved with Student Launch since his freshman year at NCSU and has learned a lot about rocketry, and even more about circuitry and embedded systems. Kumar graduated NCSU in 2016 with a B.S. in Computer Science and is now a software engineer for the Charles Schwab Corporation. He was the former 2015-16 vice-president for Tacho Lycos but now mentors current members and fufills website related needs.

Team Members (2016 - 2017)

Name Major Class Standing Home Town
Zachary Verbos Aerospace Engineering Victory Lap Mooresville, NC
Zach Coppola Aerospace Engineering Freshman East Northport, NY
Adam J. Phillips Physics Sophomore Dallas, NC
Conner Grey Aerospace Engineering Freshman Clayton, NC
Mercedes McCarthy Mechanical Engineering Freshman Zanesville, OH
Nilesh Contractor Mechanical Engineering Freshman Cary, NC
Jacob Abramow Electrical Engineering Freshman Johns Creek, GA
Ashlee Bracewell Aerospace Sophomore Salisbury, NC
Emma Jaynes Aerospace Engineering Freshman Durham, NC
Zach Baker Mechanical Engineering Victory Lap Kinston, NC
Bryce Abbott Aerospace Engineering Sophomore Henderson, NC
Erik Benson Aerospace Engineering Freshman Southern Pines, NC
Devin Stafford Mechanical Engineering Freshman Raleigh, NC
Sreevishnu Oruganti Aerospace Freshman Raleigh
Adam Le Aerospace Engineering Junior Spartanburg, SC
Ashby Scruggs Aerospace Engineering Sophomore Pinehurst, NC
Jake Weinberg Aerospace Engineering Freshman San Mateo, CA
Jack Strickland Physics Junior Raleigh, NC
Annette Gray Mechanical Engineering, Physics, German Senior Slidell, LA
Andrew Antony Aerospace Engineering Junior Mumbai, India
Sean Murray Aerospace Engineering Freshman Chapel Hill, NC
David Delgado Mechanical Engineering Freshman Passaic, NJ
Ben Saia Aerospace Engineering Freshman Baltimore, MD
Freddie Michaels Aerospace Engineering Victory Lap Greensboro, NC
Graham Pash Applied Math and Mechanical Engineering Sophomore Fayetteville, NC
Tim Dzwill Civil Engineering Sophomore Medford, NJ
Shep Medlin Aerospace Engineering Sophomore Manteo, NC
Jacob Daye Aerospace Engineering Sophomore Salisbury, NC
Jacob Sebastian Mechanical Engineering, Applied Mathematics, Political Science Sophomore Burlington, NC
Jay Patel Biomedical Engineering Freshman Cary, NC
Robbie Buhrman Aerospace Engineering Senior Walkertown, NC
Cade Brinkley Electrical Engineering Freshman Brevard, NC
CJ Magnotti Mechanical Engineering Junior Vienna, VA
Justin Easter Computer Engineering Senior Mooresville, NC