NC State HPRC Team Members

Team Members (2017 - 2018)

Beginning in the 2013-2014 school year, Tacho Lycos partnered with one of the space teams for the Aerospace Engineering capstone Senior Design project. This gave the club access to more experienced undergraduate students who were able to dedicate more time and energy into guiding the club through the milestones set by NASA for the Student Launch competition. This partnership allowed the veteran club members who were best suited to design, build, and test the sub- and full-scale rockets to work toward their final graduation requirement while continuing their experience in the club. Less experienced club members have also benefited greatly from this partnership as the Seniors have been able to mentor underclassmen in topics ranging from stability in rocket design to composite layups. A new Senior Design team has been selected for the 2016-17 school year and will continue a successful partnership that will ensure the club's growth, longevity, and overall experience - making Tacho Lycos stronger than ever!
NC State Aerospace Senior Design - Space Team 1
2017 - 2018 Tacho Lycos Team

Executive Officers (2017 - 2018)

President and Senior Design Lead

Raven Lauer - relauer@ncsu.edu

Years in Club: 6
Prior Experierience: Coordination Lead 2014-16, Vice President 2016-17
Biography & Responsibilities: Raven is a 6th year student double majoring in Aerospace Engineering and History as part of the Ben Franklin Scholars program. As president, he is expected to preside the weekly club meetings, attend at least half of all outreach events, and represent the club at all NC State Student Organization events. In his spare time, Raven enjoys flying helicopters as a private pilot, reading, and spending time with friends.

Vice-President of Operations

Ashlee Bracewell - apbracew@ncsu.edu

Years in Club: 3
Prior Experierience: Assistant Treasurer 2016-17
Biography & Responsibilities: Ashlee is a 3rd year Civil Engineering student. As the Vice President of Operations, she is expected to attend outreach events, aid fellow officers in their duties, and manage all general club activities. In her spare time, Ashlee enjoys reading, sketching/designing, and traveling.

Vice-President of Development

David Schuler - dtschule@ncsu.edu

Years in Club: 3
Prior Experierience: Treasurer 2016-17
Biography & Responsibilities: David is a 3rd year student studying Mechanical Engineering. As Vice President of Development, he is responsible for expanding the technical scope of the club, and coordinates with the treasurer to develop relationships with sponsors. He has interned with Oracle, MaxPoint, and Johnston Space Center. In his free time, David enjoys overlanding by both SUV and motorcycle, as well as backpacking and canoeing.

Vice-President of Integration

Nathan Cox - nccox2@ncsu.edu

Years in Club: 3
Prior Experierience: None
Biography & Responsibilities: Nathan Cox is a junior studying Aerospace Engineering. As Vice President of Integration, he is responsible for coordinating the goals of the club and the senior design team. In his spare time, Nathan enjoys hiking, backpacking, and kayaking.

Supporting Officers (2017 - 2018)

Treasurer

Ashby Scruggs - alscrug2@ncsu.edu

Years in Club: 2
Prior Experierience: None
Biography & Responsibilities: Ashby is a junior studying Aerospace Engineering. In addition to High-Powered Rocketry Club, Ashby is an active member of NC State’s section of the Society of Women Engineers and the University Honors Program. As treasurer, Ashby is expected to effectively manage the club funds and plan for future investments. In her free time, Ashby enjoys reading and running.

Social Media Officer

Joseph Taylor - jstaylo8@ncsu.edu

Years in Club: 3
Prior Experierience: Social Media Officer 2015-17
Biography & Responsibilities: Joseph is a 3rd year student studying Environmental Science with a focus on sustainable architecture. As the Social Media Officer, he is responsible for curating and posting content on the team social media pages. He is also an executive member of the Climate Reality Project Campus Corps working to bring renewable energy solutions to NC State campus. In his free time, Joseph enjoys drawing and creative writing.

Safety Officer

Erik Benson - etbenson@ncsu.edu

Years in Club: 2
Prior Experierience: None
Biography & Responsibilities: Erik is a 2nd year student majoring in Aerospace Engineering while also taking Medical Prerequisites. He is a part of the University Scholars Program as well as Army ROTC. As Safety Officer, he is expected to communicate and enforce the team safety plan and to keep a safe and tidy lab space. In his free time, Erik enjoys playing video games, running, and hiking.

Coordination Officer

John Inness - jinness@ncsu.edu

Years in Club: 4
Prior Experierience: Outreach Coordinator
Biography & Responsibilities:John is a 4th year student majoring in Aerospace Engineering with a minor in Music Performance. As Coordination Officer, he is expected to manage all lines of communication within the club and plan all events including outreach. In his free time, John greatly enjoys playing and performing music with one of several groups that he is a member of on campus.

Web Administrator

Gabe Buss - gsbuss@ncsu.edu

Years in Club: 2
Prior Experierience: None
Biography & Responsibilities: Gabe is a sophomore student majoring in Aerospace Engineering and minoring in Mathematics, as well as being part of the University Scholars program. As Website Administrator, he is expected to maintain and update the club website, integrate social media, upload reports, and establish a strong web presence. In his free time, Gabe enjoys playing video games and guitar.

Advisors and Mentors

Jim Livingston

Biography: Jim has been a Tripoli Rocketry Association Member for twenty-two years. He has built and launched over fifty M class and larger motors. Jim has been a member of Tripoli Technical Advisory Panel (TAP) for seventeen years.

Dr. Alan Whitmore

Biography: Alan Whitmore is a Research Associate in the Department of Genetics at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Medicine. His work addresses the genetic control of susceptibility to viral respiratory diseases like influenza and SARS. He has been the Prefect (local chapter president) of Tripoli East NC (a chapter of the Tripoli Rocketry Association) since 2006, and is a member of the Technical Advisory Panel of Tripoli Rocketry Association.

Dr. Charles Hall Jr.

Biography:Dr. Hall directs the Flight Research Group in Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering at NCSU. The Flight Research Group is involved primarily with UAS/UAV/RPV aircraft but some programs have involved general aviation and C-130 aircraft.

Daniel Mahinthakumar (Kumar) - dmmahint@ncsu.edu

Biography: Raised in Apex, NC, Daniel (A.K.A. Kumar) has been interested in programming and robotics since middle school. He has been involved with Student Launch since his freshman year at NCSU and has learned a lot about rocketry, and even more about circuitry and embedded systems. Kumar graduated NCSU in 2016 with a B.S. in Computer Science and is now a software engineer for the Charles Schwab Corporation. He was the former 2015-16 vice-president for Tacho Lycos but now mentors current members and fufills website related needs.

Team Members (2016 - 2017)

First Name Last Name NC State Email Officer Position
Aaron Ott apott@ncsu.edu Member
Adam Phillips ajphill5@ncsu.edu Member
Adam Tokonitz agtokoni@ncsu.edu Member
Adithya Balaji abalaji2@ncsu.edu Member
Alexander Allen arallen4@ncsu.edu Member
Amy Shank anshank@ncsu.edu Member
Andrew May asmay@ncsu.edu Member
Anna Freundt akfreund@ncsu.edu Member
Annette Gray argray4@ncsu.edu Member
Ashby Scruggs alscrug2@ncsu.edu Treasurer
Ashlee Bracewell apbracew@ncsu.edu Vice President
Austin Shelton awshelto@ncsu.edu Member
Ben Haydon brhaydon@ncsu.edu Member
Bennett Meyer bomeyer@ncsu.edu Member
Brendan D'Angelo bkdangel@ncsu.edu Member
Brian Reilly bjreill3@ncsu.edu Member
Bryce Abbott tbabbott@ncsu.edu Member
Cassie Kirkconnell cekirkco@ncsu.edu Member
Christopher Magnotti cjmagnot@ncsu.edu Member
Christopher Buck crbuck@ncsu.edu Advisor
Chuck Hall chall@ncsu.edu Advisor
Nate Faulkner cnfaulkn@ncsu.edu Member
Craig Messina cdmessin@ncsu.edu Member
Daniel Soos dpsoos@ncsu.edu Member
David Schuler dtschule@ncsu.edu Vice President
David Torres dtorres2@ncsu.edu Member
Derek Esterly dbesterl@ncsu.edu Member
Devin Stafford dmstaffo@ncsu.edu Member
Emma Jaynes ekjaynes@ncsu.edu Member
Emmy Jeffries eejeffr2@ncsu.edu Member
Eric Starner ebstarne@ncsu.edu Member
Erik Benson etbenson@ncsu.edu Safety Officer
Ethan Johnson enjohns2@ncsu.edu Member
Evan Benson Ejbenson@ncsu.edu Member
Evan Elezaj Epelezaj@ncsu.edu Member
Evan Patterson empatte2@ncsu.edu Member
Gabriel Buss gsbuss@ncsu.edu Webmaster
Girish Ganesh gganesh3@ncsu.edu Member
Halen Mattison hgmattis@ncsu.edu Member
Hannah Oliver hjoliver@ncsu.edu Member
Harvey Hoopes hwhoopes@ncsu.edu Member
Ian Hicks imhicks@ncsu.edu Member
Isaiah Johnson jijohnso@ncsu.edu Member
Jackson Kyner rjkyner@ncsu.edu Member
Jacob Daye jgdaye@ncsu.edu Member
Jacob Sebastian jrsebast@ncsu.edu Member
Jamie Lamont jalamon2@ncsu.edu Member
Jayesh Patel jayesh98p@gmail.com Member
Jeremy Lowe jlowe3@ncsu.edu Member
Jillian Dlugos jfdlugos@ncsu.edu Member
Joey Richie jmrichi2@ncsu.edu Member
John Inness jinness@ncsu.edu Secretary
Jordan Schuh jtschuh@ncsu.edu Member
Joseph Duggan jgduggan@ncsu.edu Member
Joseph Taylor jstaylo8@ncsu.edu Social Media Chair
Josh Pickles jdpickle@ncsu.edu Member
Joshua Daniels jldanie5@ncsu.edu Member
Joshua Mitchell jmitche2@ncsu.edu Member
Justin Van Housen jmvanhou@ncsu.edu Member
Kelvin Dsouza kdsouza@ncsu.edu Member
Kevin Elliott kjellio2@ncsu.edu Member
Lila Crick lecrick@ncsu.edu Member
Matthew Amar mcamar@ncsu.edu Member
Matthew White mtwhite4@ncsu.edu Member
Michael Robertson marober9@ncsu.edu Member
Michelle Nursey menursey@ncsu.edu Member
Nathan Cox nccox2@ncsu.edu Vice President
Nathan Raynor nraynor@ncsu.edu Member
Nick Rosato njrosato@ncsu.edu Member
Nolan Hopkins nghopkin@ncsu.edu Member
Paul von Hardenberg phvonhar@ncsu.edu Member
Peter Newell jpnewel2@ncsu.edu Member
Raj Patel rnpatel5@ncsu.edu Member
Raven Lauer relauer@ncsu.edu President
Renzo Benavides rgbenavi@ncsu.edu Member
Riley Beatty rebeatty@ncsu.edu Member
Robert Kempin rckempin@ncsu.edu Member
Ryan Holland rjholla2@ncsu.edu Member
Ryan Reeb rfreeb@ncsu.edu Member
Sadie McCarthy mcmccar2@ncsu.edu Member
Sean Murray spmurray@ncsu.edu Member
Shaugnessy Reynolds sbreyno3@ncsu.edu Member
Shiv Oza sjoza@ncsu.edu Member
Sreevishnu Oruganti sorugan@ncsu.edu Member
Timothy Chen tschen@ncsu.edu Member
Tristan Abella tgabella@ncsu.edu Member
Walter Brinkley wcbrinkl@ncsu.edu Member
Weston Mundy wmmundy@ncsu.edu Member
Will Furth wjfurth@ncsu.edu Member
William Garrabrant wagarrab@ncsu.edu Member
Yauheni Zboichyk yzboich@ncsu.edu Member
Zhuowei Xu zxu14@ncsu.edu Member